Nobel Prizes awarded

The Nobel Prize is awarded each year on December 10 in honor of Alfred Nobel (21 (October 1833 – 10 December 1896.)  The 2018 recipients:

 Medicine:  James P Allison (USA) and Tasaku Honjo (Japan) “for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation.”

Physics:  Arthur Ashkin (USA), Gerard Mourou (France), and Donna Strickland (Canada) “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.”

Chemistry: Frances H. Arnold (USA) for “for the directed evolution of enzymes” and George P. Smith (USA) and Sir Gregory P. Winter (UK) “for the phage display of peptides and antibodies.”

Peace:  Denis Mukwege (Congo) and Nadia Murad (Iraq) “for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.”

Economics: William D. Nordhaus (USA) “for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis” and Paul M. Romer (USA) “for integrating technological innovations into long-run macroeconomic analysis.”

The Nobel Prize for Literature was cancelled this year due to allegations of sexual misconduct against Jean-Claude Arnault, husband of Nobel Academy Member, the poet Katarina Frostenson. The allegations contend that the sexual misconduct occurred on Academy property and even at an Academy event.

This portrait of Alfred Nobel was taken by Gösta Florman (1831–1900) and is in the public domain.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.